1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Application
  4. How to enable IIS and IIS Required Components?

How to enable IIS and IIS Required Components?

Internet Information Services, i.e. IIS, is extensive useful software developed by Microsoft to deploy web projects, and you can install/enable the services from Server Manager utility. IIS is mainly used to host ASP.NET based projects and static websites on the windows server. IIS supports HTTP, HTTP/2, HTTPS, FTP, FTPS, SMTP and NNTP. If your windows server image has IIS pre-enabled or not yet enabled and also not yet installed the required components of the IIS, then you can find this article useful.

In this article, you will learn about: How to enable IIS and IIS Required Components?

1. Login to Windows Server → Search and Open “Server Manager“.

Open Server Manager

2. Click on “Add Roles and Features“.


3. In the Installation Type section, select Role-based or feature-based installation → Next.


4. In Server Selection, select your Windows Server; if your server is configured in the network, then select the particular server from the list to process the installation → Next.


5. In Server Roles section, select Web Server (IIS)  Click on Next.


6. Again. under Web Server Role (IIS) → Role Services → Select all the required components for the installation → Click on Next.


7. In the Confirmation section, click on Install.

How to enable IIS and IIS Required Components


Updated on October 10, 2021
Need Support?
Can't find the answer you're looking for? Don't worry we're here to help!